Menu Close

Call for Papers: American Society of Comparative Law–Younger Comparativists Committee

The Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law invites submissions to fill a panel on “New Voices in Comparative Law,” to be held at the Society’s 2013 Annual Meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas, on October 10-12 at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law. The purpose of the panel is to highlight the scholarship of new and younger comparativists.

Submissions will be accepted on any subject of public or private comparative law from scholars who have been engaged as law teachers for ten years or fewer as of July 1, 2013.

The Scholarship Advisory Group of the Younger Comparativists Committee will review submissions with the authors’ identities concealed. A maximum of two submissions will be chosen for the panel. Submissions will not be accepted from scholars whose work has been featured in a prior younger scholars’ panel at the Society’s Annual Meeting.

The scholars whose entries are selected for the panel will be required to submit a final paper no longer than 30,000 words by August 22, 2013.

To submit an entry, scholars should email an abstract of no more than 1000 words (including footnotes) no later than 12:00pm EST on June 24, 2013, to Judy Yi at the following address: Abstracts should reflect original research that will not yet have been published by the time of the Society’s Annual Meeting. The abstract should be accompanied by a separate cover sheet indicating the author’s name, title of the paper, institutional affiliation, and contact information. The abstract itself must not contain any references that identify the author or the author’s institutional affiliation.

The Younger Comparativists Committee is pleased to announce that LexisNexis will award a Book Prize to the author of the paper judged most meritorious by the Scholarship Advisory Group.

Please direct all inquiries to Richard Albert, Chair of the Younger Comparativists Committee, by email at or telephone at 617.552.3930.

Younger Comparativists Committee:

Donald Childress (Pepperdine)

Wulf Kaal (St. Thomas–Minneapolis)

Salil Mehra (Temple)

Sudha Setty (Western New England)

Richard Albert (Boston College) (chair)

Posted in Announcement, Calls for Papers, Law Center

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *